Home

Make It Monday #56 – Partial Cuts

March 6, 2012

Partial cutting with Betsy’s Make It Monday #56 technique is difficult without the right supplies.  So I made my cutting sandwich a bit different:

It’s super simple.  You basically reposition the cutting plate to everything ABOVE the line to make the partial cut, then you roll everything through the Big Shot or Cuttlebug.  Just make sure you have your dies taped down with masking tape, scotch tape or post-its so the dies won’t move while the sandwich is going through!

Used: Papertrey Ink (black & white cardstock, Upper Alphabet Dies, True Black Ink, Inside & Out: Thank You) | Basic Grey (Off Beat patterned paper) | Stampin’ Up (Dimensionals)

23 Responses to “Make It Monday #56 – Partial Cuts”

  1. Victoria h Says:

    Fab technique, I’ll have to try it this way. It was a great idea to partial cut with the alphabet dies and the patterned paper behind really makes them stand out. Well done.


  2. WoW! Love how you used those alphabet dies. What a great card.

  3. Leah C. Says:

    Fabulous card! I didn’t have the supplies to do it the Betsy did, I’ll have to try it this way:)


  4. Great job! I love that you simplified the technique. I did something similar-but I just guessed how far to put the die through and then rolled it back out again. Your way is much more efficient and the results are outstanding! Love your card. 🙂

  5. angela price Says:

    I love your card. simple and stunning!

  6. Cath Says:

    Fun card, Pamela! I’m so glad you added your name to the Moxie Fab World Blog Roll. I’m looking forward to stopping by from time to time!

  7. Terri Moore Says:

    Great Card. Thanks for showing how you did it.

  8. Carol Says:

    This is super cute! Thanks so much for showing us how to do this!

  9. laurafadora Says:

    so incredibly fabulous!!!! thanks for showing how you did it! gotta try this!

  10. Joyce M. Says:

    Congrats on your shout out. This is a fabby card.

  11. Cyndie Says:

    Love your technique for making this card, I will definitely try it! Your design for this card is great with the words against the striped background–very cool!

  12. Marlena M Says:

    I love this! It makes me want those letter dies.

  13. Leigh Penner Says:

    Love this!
    Congratulations on the shout-out– very well deserved!


  14. Great job with this technique and your shout out!!! I love how you really made the die cut letters the center of the show!

  15. Lindsey Says:

    LOVE the card and THANK YOU a million times for showing a simpler technique. I was a bit frustrated yesterday. I think I might actually try this challenge again thanks to you.

  16. Jen Adcock Says:

    The only word that come to mind for me here is: Genius!

    Thanks so much for the clearer and so clever expaination. Awesome.


  17. Congratulations on the shout out! And thanks for the photo tutorial – will definitely try it. Didn’t have the materials Betsy listed so this will be perfect! 🙂

  18. Sue Symens Says:

    Great idea and cool card. I did copy the concept for one of my submissions. Thanks for posting such a great idea!

  19. Lenae Says:

    This is so genius thank you for sharing your great tip.

  20. Martha Says:

    WOW, what a fabulous card, Pamela! I love your creativity!
    Thanks for the wonderful tutorial!

    You got me to thinking, and then I saw Amber’s entry, and now I must try to create something.

    -Martha

  21. sanketi Says:

    Lovely !…wonderful idea!


  22. Not sure how I missed this, but found you through Damask Love. You are brilliant! I had this odd sandwich contraption for partial die cutting, but having the die hang outside the sandwich makes perfect sense! And I’m sure so much easier. Thanks for sharing!!

  23. Francesca Says:

    Hi there mates, its fantastic piece of writing about cultureand entirely explained, keep it up all
    the time.


Leave a comment